Go Back   Maximas.NYC Forums > New York City Maxima Groups > 4th Gen Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2013   #1
maxprivate
 
maxprivate's Avatar

Name: maxprivate
Title: New Member
Status: Offline

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 0maxprivate is on a distinguished road
Fail Safe Mode Using 2001 AE Cluster ?

Its common that using the 2001 AE cluster in a 4th gen to have a delay when the 2001 cluster registers speed usually around 15 to 20 mph from what I read. So Im wondering if this delay be causing the problem causing fail safe.

I have no CEL and the car will not accelerate when I floor it, only revs till about 2500 rpm so I know its in fail safe. I would have to turn the car off to reset it. Sometimes it will be fine till I come to a full stop, then it would go into fail safe again. Could this speedometer delay be causing the issue?

I had my mechanic that works for Nissan check for codes using the scanner and found a vehicle speed sensor code. It was for the Vehicle speed sensor mounted on the engine and I never got a CEL for it. So we went for a test drive and he tested it using some device from Nissan ( not sure what it was ) that plugs into the OBD port. The code was cleared and the sensor was working fine he said. He told me that the delay in the speedo could be the issue because the ECU does not know how fast the car is going so It goes in fail safe.. So Im wondering if thats the issue causing Fail Safe mode.

Anyone with a 2001 cluster swap experience this fail safe issue?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013   #2
maxprivate
 
maxprivate's Avatar

Name: maxprivate
Title: New Member
Status: Offline

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 0maxprivate is on a distinguished road
Re: Fail Safe Mode Using 2001 AE Cluster ?

anyone have this problem using this 2001 cluster? or am I the only one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013   #3
maxprivate
 
maxprivate's Avatar

Name: maxprivate
Title: New Member
Status: Offline

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 16
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 0maxprivate is on a distinguished road
Re: Fail Safe Mode Using 2001 AE Cluster ?

anyone! HeLp!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018   #4
Drstove

Name: Drstove
Title: Starting Member
Status: Offline

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Va
Posts: 5
Chats: 0
Rep Power: 0Drstove is on a distinguished road
Re: Fail Safe Mode Using 2001 AE Cluster ?

Id like to know tha answer to this before i go through with doing this mod.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K&N Oil Filter for a Steal!!! Only $6.74 VIP Maxima Great Deals! 6 06-04-2012 02:12 AM
F/S 2001 Maxima SE Gauge Cluster. $40 picked up. Makaveli3004 Maxima Parts For Sale/WTB 11 07-26-2009 05:33 PM
2001 Maxima cluster & wire/diagram for 4th gen tavarish Maxima Parts For Sale/WTB 9 08-06-2008 11:43 PM
AT in Fail safe - no newbs allowed! Harmony 4th Gen Discussion 14 12-03-2007 12:17 AM
2002 gauge Cluster in a 2001 Maxima?? Makaveli3004 5th Gen Discussion 1 11-14-2006 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:58 AM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2017 Maximas.nyc